2023 Transition

Shortly after the election, Comptroller-elect Lierman pulled together a transition team divided into 6 work groups: Data & Innovation, Tax Administration, Pensions, Procurement & the Board of Public Works, Local Government Engagement, and Public Engagement. The team comprised over one hundred Marylanders from every corner of the state who met numerous times to craft a robust report of recommendations.

The recommendations of this transition team and the work of its various work groups have been documented in this report. This report is a starting point – opportunities that the Office of the Comptroller has to support the people of Maryland more fully. They include modernizing our taxpayer systems to allow for improved constituent service; improving our procurement processes, including a renewed focus on MBE participation goals; uplifting transparency and accessibility as foundational principles; recruiting new employees to plan for the future and retaining the institutional knowledge the agency currently possesses; and, expanding public engagement by enhancing the work of the branch offices and building outreach models that take into account the diverse needs of all of Maryland’s residents.

Lierman Transition Team

Honorary Co-Chairs

County Executive Angela D. Alsobrooks
Comptroller Peter Franchot
Senator Susan Lee

Transition Coordinator

Dani DiPietro

Working Co-Chairs

Candace Dodson-Reed
Treasurer Nancy Koop
Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk

Policy Committees & Coordinators

Veronica Cool (Co-Chair)
Robert Dashiell (Co-Chair)
Ash Shetty (Co-Chair)
Eben Smith (Co-Chair)

Marco V. Ávila, P.E.
Paul Berman
Kenya Campbell
Ethan Cohen
Stephen Courtien
Lance Davis
Robert Gifford
Karen Gooden
Vincent Iweanoge
Raymond Jackson
Christina Johnson
Michael Knapp
Chih-Hsiang Li
Angela A. McCullough
Justin Meighan
Hon. Dan Morhaim
Elizabeth Moss
Stephen Neal
Saman Qadeer Ahmad
Dawn Rhodes
Imran Siddiqui
Gurcharan Singh
Dee Dee Strum
Jonathan Studdard
Dr. Drena Valentine
Jayson Williams
Hon. Floyd Wilson, Jr.

Hon. Andrew Cassilly (Co-Chair)
Ben Seigel (Co-Chair)
Terry Speigner (Co-Chair)
Dipak Thakker (Co-Chair)

Momen Abukhdeir
Neil Bergsman
Ben Birge
Jane Brown
Cristie Cole
Andrew Coy
Delali Dzirasa
Ira Greenstein
Jeff Hollingsworth
Ethan Kazi
Carmen Larsen
Dr. Corinna Lathan
Mark Lawrence
Troy LeMaile-Stovall
Mia Millette
Bryan Murfree
Dr. Rajan Natarajan
Ruth Ann Norton
Cathryn Paul
Ted Pibil
Jane Redicker
Jeffrey Rosen
Eula Secka
Carolina Seldes

Dr. Jasmine A. Lee
Dr. Valorie Sanders

Theresa Kuhns (Co-Chair)
Michael Sanderson (Co-Chair)

Council President Gabe Albornoz
Mayor Jud Ashman
Chuck Bean
Mayor Celina Benitez
Mayor Gavin Buckley
John Hartline
Councilmember Josh Hastings
Comptroller Bill Henry
Mayor Jeannine James
Councilmember Julian E. Jones, Jr.
Commissioner Donna Kahoe
Mayor Emily Keller
Mike Kelly
Register of Wills Byron Macfarlane
Councilmember Laurie Marchini
Mayor Pro Tem Denise Mitchell
Councilmember Marverly Nettles
Councilmember Todd Nock
Mayor Michael O’Connor
Council President Gregory Pecoraro
Councilmember Christiana Rigby

Patrick Moran (Co-Chair)
Sheila Morgan-Johnson (Co-Chair)
Andrew Serafini (Co-Chair)

Peter Bain
Neil Becker
Luke Cooper
Nicole Earle
Randy Guttman
Chris Herrmann
Hon. Edward Kasemeyer
Dean Kenderdine
Paul Li
Michael McMillan
Mary Miller
Stacey Mink
Eileen O’Rourke
Walid Petiri

Al Delia (Co-Chair)
Dannielle Glaros (Co-Chair)
Laura Gutierrez (Co-Chair)
Hon. Doncella Wilson, LMSW (Co-Chair)

Jameel Aalim Johnson
Hon. Bruce Adams
Abena Affum-McAllister
Nancy Andrew
Laura Bacon
Arthur Pavan Bezwada
Carmen Camacho
Nancy Carr
Elizabeth Chung
Karen Czapanskiy
Dr. Frances (Toni) Draper
Theresa Mitchell Dudley
Dr. Charlene Dukes
Mike Dunn
Heather Iliff
Francesca Jean Baptiste
Annette Karanja
Deogratias Kawunde
Samay Kindra
Howard Libit
Kendra Lindsey
Tammira Lucas
Jerry Mclaurin
Dr. Gina Merritt, MBA
Robin Murphy
Julia Nichols
John Pare
Ashiah Parker
Lupi Quinteros-Grady
Grace Rivera Oven
Chuck Short
Giuliana Valencia-Banks
Jennifer Walsh
Dorothy (Dot) Wilson

Jennifer Aiosa
William Baker
Joanne Throwe

Sharonne Bonardi (Co-Chair)
Hon. Richard Madaleno (Co-Chair)
Robin McKinney (Co-Chair)

Pablo Blank
Stanley Earley
Giavante Hawkins
Kesha-Simone Jones
Cailey Locklair
Sam Melamed
Judy Neff
Paul Nolan
Amran Pasha
Hon. Kelly Schulz
Tejinder Singh
Graylin Smith
Tehma Smith Wilson
Javier N. Solis
Chris Trumbauer
Jake Van Wingerden
Julie Verratti
Beverly Winstead